2017 Speakers

Supreme Court Review:

Erwin Chemerinsky is the founding Dean and Distinguished Professor of Law and Raymond Pryke Professor of First Amendment Law at University of California, Irvine School of Law, with a joint appointment in Political Science. Prior to assuming this position in 2008, he was the Alston and Bird Professor of Law and Political Science at Duke University from 2004-2008, and before that was a professor at the University of Southern California Law School from 1983-2004, including as the Sydney M. Irmas Professor of Public Interest Law, Legal Ethics, and Political Science. He also has taught at DePaul College of Law and UCLA Law School. Dean Chemerinsky is the author of ten books, including The Case Against the Supreme Court, published by Viking in 2014, and two books to be published by Yale University Press in 2017, Closing the Courthouse Doors: How Your Constitutional Rights Became Unenforceable and Free Speech on Campus (with Howard Gillman). He also is the author of more than 200 law review articles. He writes a weekly column for the Orange County Register, monthly columns for the ABA Journal and the Daily Journal, and op-eds in newspapers across the country. Dean Chemerinsky frequently argues appellate cases, including in the United States Supreme Court. In January 2014, National Jurist magazine named him as the most influential person in legal education in the United States. Dean Chemerinsky holds a law degree from Harvard Law School and a bachelor’s degree from Northwestern University.

Wikileaks, National Security, and the First Amendment:

David E. McCraw is Vice President and Assistant General Counsel for The New York Times Company where he is responsible for newsroom legal issues and litigation. He has been at The Times since 2002. Mr. McCraw is a member of the Executive Committee of the New York City Bar and the former Chair of the City Bar’s Communications and Media Law Committee. He also serves on the Vance Center Committee. He is an adjunct professor at New York University School of Law. He is a graduate of Albany Law School, Cornell University, and the University of Illinois.

John Carlin is the former Assistant Attorney General for National Security, the Department of Justice’s top national security attorney. In this capacity, he oversaw the division responsible for protecting the country against terrorism, espionage, cyber and other national security threats. Mr. Carlin joined NSD after serving as Chief of Staff to the FBI Director where he helped lead their evolution to meet growing and changing cyberthreats. A career prosecutor, Mr. Carlin previously served as National Coordinator of DOJ’s Computer Hacking and Intellectual Property program and as a federal prosecutor where he pursued cases including homicide, cyber and public corruption matters. Mr. Carlin earned his Juris Doctor degree from Harvard Law School and his Bachelor of Arts degree from Williams College.

Stephen Bates is an associate professor at the Hank Greenspun School of Journalism and Media Studies at UNLV. A graduate of Harvard Law School, he is the author, coauthor, or editor of four books. His work has appeared in Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly, Communication Law and Policy, International Journal of Communication, and First Amendment Law Review, as well as The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, The Washington Post, Slate, and The Wilson Quarterly. Mr. Bates has also been a fellow of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, the Annenberg Washington Program in Communications Policy Studies, and the Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics, and Public Policy at Harvard University.

Substance Abuse in the Legal Profession:

The Honorable Cedric Kerns
Chief Judge Cedric A. Kerns was elected to the Las Vegas Municipal Court, Department 5 in June of 1997. Prior to being elected, Judge Kerns was a partner and co-founder of the Law Office of Kerns and Lybarger, where he focused on criminal defense and domestic litigation. He came to Las Vegas in 1985 to attend the University of Nevada, Las Vegas where he was a member of the nationally ranked debate team before graduating in 1989. He received his Juris Doctor in 1992 from the University of San Diego. Judge Kerns started working with specialty courts in 2004 with his development and implementation of the specialized H.O.P.E. Court that focuses on habitual offenders. Currently, Chief Judge Kerns is the presiding judge over Las Vegas Municipal Court’s Young Offender Court which is a specialized court he created to focus on offenders between the ages of 18 and 24, and their families who find their way into the court system while suffering with addiction issues.

Hortensia DeJesus is a certified alcohol and drug counselor and currently the Family and Outpatient Services Manager at Las Vegas Recovery Center. Ms. DeJesus is known for motivating families muddling through the confusion associated with the family disease of addiction by using a direct, common-sense approach to very fragile and complex circumstances.

Dr. Daniel Shiode is a licensed clinical psychologist, and Clinical Director of Las Vegas Recovery Center. He has training and experience in the psychological evaluation and treatment of chronic pain, psychological aspects of medical conditions, post-traumatic disorders, EMDR (Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing), and clinical hypnosis. Licensed in both Nevada and California, Dr. Shiode received his education and training at UCLA and the California School of Professional Psychology, Los Angeles. Dr. Shiode has been licensed in California since 1987, and in Nevada since 1992.

Generational Differences:

Dr. Arin N. Reeves is a leading researcher, author and advisor in the fields of leadership and inclusion. Ms. Reeves studied business at DePaul University’s College of Commerce, attended law school at University of Southern California and received her Ph.D. in Sociology from Northwestern University. She is a best-selling author of two books: The Next IQ and One Size Never Fits All. Dr. Reeves is currently the President of Nextions, a research and advisory firm.

To download a PDF version of this years program: 2017 Conference Speakers